Personal · Work

Work alone

This is not my first blog here in WordPress but I felt it’s necessary to create a new one for my writing frustrations. Well, I’m more on frustrated with someone right now than my writing. To connect my title, I’m currently alone at work. And it sucks. I’ve been working here for the last 5 months and I’ve been kind. I’ve been considerate. I’ve been open to suggestions and to my plans. Just a little background, I work in a faculty setting and I’m helping the secretary with administration stuff. I have a ‘partner’ who I’m supposed to ‘work’ with. Anyway, we do not have a strict log in and log out. We can come and go as we please PROVIDED that the other person knows the other’s schedule. It’s a give and take situation here. But then, we were required to ASSIGN a definite schedule just so the secretary is assured that there’s someone available. So, we agreed that Mondays and Wednesdays, he will be here in the morning while I in the afternoon. And in Tuesdays and Thursdays, I will be the one in the morning and him in the afternoon. On Fridays, it will depend who will take the morning shift. It will be our discretion should we TALK about it. So, yeah. That’s the set up. For 5 months, I’ve been following the schedule. I come in after lunch on Mondays and Wednesdays and early on Tuesdays and Thursdays. I don’t honestly care if he doesn’t report to work early on Mondays and Wednesdays because we submitted a schedule that well, for me, I will follow.

It’s been pretty easy here. It’s easy to request for a leave. It’s easy to talk to the secretary for favors. But, it doesn’t seem to be easy for my ‘partner’ to TELL me if there’s changes in the schedule and the like. This is not the first time that it happened but let me share this….

Yesterday, knowing the secretary is on leave until Wednesday, I told my ‘partner’ that I will be going to work early. It’s a Tuesday so I am expected to be early. I even told him that he doesn’t need to be early (coz it’s a Tuesday) and that he should rest a bit. But then, earlier when I arrived.. The office is locked. I checked the place where we usually ‘hide’ the key…. but there’s no key in there. It was so hot and I was sweating and I don’t know how I’ll be able to get in the office. I sent him a text message. He didn’t reply. I sent the secretary a message. But she didn’t reply. So, I stayed near the office and waited. After 10 minutes, he told me that HE HAS THE KEY AND HE’S ON HIS WAY TO THE OFFICE, 5MINS. I’ve practiced being patient all my life but I’m not perfect. I still feel the rush where I want to strangle him and tell him how every frustrating thing about him. Of course, it took him more than 5 minutes to get to the office. He lives nearby but I waited for 30 minutes until he arrived. And of course, I didn’t screamed at him even if I wanted to. I was sitting outside being bitten by mosquitos and sweating like shit AND I DIDN’T EVEN KNOW THAT HE HAS THE KEY IN THE FIRST PLACE. Look, is it so difficult for him to tell me yesterday that he has the key? Or knowing that I will arrive EARLY today like I mentioned, would it be so difficult to consider leaving the key in the hiding place? Again, this is not the first time he did something like this. And it is just so frustrating..

And so, I let it be. Since it’s Tuesday and I arrived early, I am EXPECTED to leave early as well. That’s how it works since we are only required to work 20 hours a week. But then, he mentioned that he is meeting someone today. And after a few minutes (yes minutes), he just gathered his things and left. Even if I wanted to, I can’t just tell him that he couldn’t leave. I AM THAT NICE. So, here I am bursting my frustration in writing. LOL. Anyway, he could have told me at least. That he is planning something today. That he won’t be staying long in the office. If the meeting was set just today, he could have still given me an advise about it before I left home. The thing is, we have a schedule that even though it is very lenient here, we should still follow. If there are changes, isn’t it fair to let the other person know? Is it so difficult to be considerate of your ‘partner’?

Now, I’m reconsidering if I will renew my contract or not which will end in July. I’ve already submitted my CVs to many companies but I’m still undecided. There is no ‘good’ company. There’s only lessons learned and experiences to grow from.

Leave a Reply

